We will no longer be supporting IE7 and below as a web browser effective June 1st 2020. Click here for more information.

Sign In

Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority

Skip Navigation LinksLake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority > It's the Best Time of the Year!

It's the Best Time of the Year! LSRCA Hands Out 29 Environmental Awards

Event Celebrates the Efforts of Environmental Champions

Newmarket – November 26, 2021 – At its 39th annual Conservation Awards ceremony, held virtually on Friday, November 26, the Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority (the Authority) paid tribute to 29 incredible individuals, businesses and groups who are working hard to improve our environment.

According to the Authority's Chief Administrative Officer Rob Baldwin, “This is our favourite event of the year. It's a time when we get to hear success stories about people across the watershed who are helping to improve its health. We hope our awards ceremony gives them a sense of our appreciation for their efforts; efforts that positively affect us all!"

The Authority's chair, York Region Chairman and CEO, Wayne Emmerson, adds “We like to think of them as environmental heroes. Their selfless actions deserve recognition and serve as a reminder about the positive impact our activities can have."

Below is a list of the 29 recipients who received awards this year.

Full details about their achievements, including pictures and videos, can be found on our website here: https://www.lsrca.on.ca/conservationawards

Healthy Water Award (8 recipients)

Jim Wood, watershed-wide

Katherine Sprigg, East Gwillimbury

Eek Farms, King

Lefroy Harbour, Innisfil

Town of East Gwillimbury

Goodyear Farms, Brock

Kettleby Valley Camp, King

Lauri Hoeg, Georgina Island / watershed-wide

Healthy Land Award (12 recipients)

Steve and Linda Pugh, Uxbridge

Siegfried and Tamara Jung, Sunderland

Danielle and Allyson Flynn, King

Brian and Kristal McDonald, East Gwillimbury

Karat King: Dough, Rich and Nick Weening, Holland Marsh

Catherine McNeely, Georgina

Donny Crowder and Gail Loder, Innisfil

Marie Rolfe, Georgina

Oak Ridges Moraine Land Trust, King

Ziemba Farms, Holland Marsh

Town of Innisfil

Innisfree Limited, Innisfil

Healthy Community Award (6 recipients)

Ryan Marques, Bradford West Gwillimbury

Sutton Beavers, Scouts & Guides, Georgina

Tom Lewis, Newmarket

Claire Malcolmson, watershed-wide

Aileen Barclay, Newmarket

East Gwillimbury Environmental Advisory Committee

Distinguished Achievement Award

Steve Schaefer, watershed-wide

Ernie Crossland Young Conservationist Award

Zoe Bystrov, Barrie

George R. Richardson Conservation Award of Honour

Rosemary and John Dunsmore, Oro-Medonte​

​​​​​​​​​It is the mission of the Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority to collaborate, protect and restore the Lake Simcoe watershed with innovative research, policy and action.


Media Contact:
Sinem Connor
Senior Communications Advisor
Lake Simcoe Region Conse​rvation Authority
Toll Free: 1-800-465-0437
Mobile: 289-763-4507
Email: s.connor@LSRCA.on.ca​​

[ Back to all Media Releases​ ]