We will no longer be supporting IE7 and below as a web browser effective June 1st 2020. Click here for more information.

Sign In

Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority

Skip Navigation LinksLake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority > George R. Richardson Award

​​​George R. Richardson Award of Honour

This award is presented to one recipient each year, to honour and recognize lifetime environmental achievement.​

The 2023 award is presented posthumously to Wil Wegman for his extraordinary environmental legacy that celebrates his unwavering commitment to the ecological preservation and enhancement of Lake Simcoe and the surrounding areas. Wil played a vital role in restoring the native Muskellunge population in Lake Simcoe and conducted a comprehensive five-year bass tagging study, providing valuable insights into bass growth and movement patterns. His establishment of the Lake Simcoe Fisheries Stakeholder Committee promoted collaboration among stakeholders and sustainable fishery management.


Beyond fisheries, Wil contributed to the restoration of wild rice, actively engaged in efforts to prevent the spread of invasive species and founded the Huck Finn Youth Fishing Day, which has now run for 21 years. Wil was an avid angler, writer and seminar host. 

Wil's profound environmental legacy encompasses the pillars of conservation, restoration and education. The impact of his tireless efforts will continue to shape the environmental stewardship of Lake Simcoe for years to come, leaving an indelible mark on both the ecosystem and the people who hold it dear.​

Past award winners include:

2022 - Herb Quan
2020 - Not Awarded
2019 - Not Awarded
2017 - Lorrie​ Mackness (posthumously)
2016 – Annabel Slaight
2015 – Josephine Mandamin
2014 – John Tran
2013 – John McCutcheon
2012 – John Sibbald
2011 – Dave Tomlinson
2010 – Debby Beatty
2009 – Paul Harpley
2008 – Dave Kerwin
2007 – Bob Bowles
2006 – Dr. George Connell
2005 – Angus Morton
2004 – Tom Taylor
2003 – Charles Wilson
2002 – Ted Bagley (posthumously)
2001 – Ken Nicholls
2000 – J.O. Dales
1999 – Ernie Crossland​
1998 – George R. Richardson​