We will no longer be supporting IE7 and below as a web browser effective June 1st 2020. Click here for more information.

Sign In

Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority

Skip Navigation LinksLake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority > Ernie Crossland Award

​​​​​​​Ernie Crossland Young Conservationist Award

This award is presented to individuals and groups that are 30 years of age or younger and are involved in a significant leadership role in a conservation project or with a conservation-based group or organization. ​

Congratulations to the 2022 Enviroventure Class at Nantyr Shores Secondary School!



The Enviroventure Program is an outdoor and environmental leadership program at Nantyr Shores Secondary School in Innisfil. The program's core values are to engage students through experiential learning to inspire action. Students participate in numerous community initiatives that improve the quality of life for area residents and also those living all around the Lake Simcoe watershed.

Students participate in several EcoSchools initiatives and the Ontario Youth Naturalist Program run by Lakehead University. Students have organized clothing drives, community garbage clean ups, advocated for litter-less lunches, Meatless Mondays, and reusable water bottle use through their "Great Gulp" campaign. They've also conducted water and waste audits, planted a pollinator garden, ran Earth hour, provided information sessions about invasive species, managed an Eco-Fair to educate grade 9 and 10 students about environmental concerns, and planted trees with South Simcoe Streams Network.

The students in this Enviroventure Program work tirelessly to inspire younger students to think critically about the environment and their own impact on the ecosystems around them.

​Past award winners include:

  • 2021 - Zoe Bystrov​
  • 2020 - Not Awarded
  • 2019 - Nari Hwang​
  • 2018 - Michael Wang
  • 2017 - Eva Crothers
  • ​2016 – Simba Musewe; Mia Harwood, Kyra Bryson and the Sunderland Public School Student Body
  • 2015 – Melissa Cusack Striepe    
  • 2014 – Johnathan Purkis
  • 2013 – Kelsey Shaw 
  • 2012 – Matt Stergiou
  • 2011 – Jeff Howard
  • 2010 – Matt LeBlanc