We will no longer be supporting IE7 and below as a web browser effective June 1st 2020. Click here for more information.

Sign In

Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority

Skip Navigation LinksLake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority > 2016 Conservation Awards

LSRCA Hands Out Environmental Awards

Annual Evening Celebrates the Efforts of Environmental Champions

NEWMARKET – November 3, 2016At its 35th annual Conservation Awards ceremony held on the evening of Thursday, November 3, 2016, Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority (LSRCA) paid tribute to 33 individuals, businesses and groups who are working selflessly to better our environment.

During his remarks, Aurora Mayor and LSRCA Board Chair Geoffrey Dawe spoke to the outstanding achievements of the award winners. "Each and every one of our recipients has made a difference to the health of our watershed," said Dawe. "We are honoured to recognize their successes here tonight."

Emceed by Jennifer Anderson of Rogers TV's That's My Story and former Media Recognition Award winner, the gala evening took place at Madsen's Greenhouse and Garden in Newmarket. Jen shared winning entry highlights, touching on the passion of the people behind the projects.

Each award recipient is committed to positive environmental actions that contribute to a more sustainable and healthier watershed. They do it for no other reason than they care about the world they live in. They are champions in the true sense of the word.

Congratulations went out to this year's recipients as follows (see backgrounder attached for in depth details about each award recipient):

George R. Richardson Conservation Award of Honour:

Annabel Slaight, Watershed wide

Conservation Award of Merit:

Stormwater Management Policy Working Group, Watershed wide

Ernie Crossland Young Conservationist Award (2):

Simba Musewe, Innisfil
Mia Harwood, Kyra Bryson and Sunderland Public School student body, Brock

Pioneering Green Communities Award (4):

Mariposa Folk Festival Green Team, Orillia
Lafarge Canada Inc., Watershed wide 
Township of Ramara, Ramara
Ontario Water Centre – ReWilding Lake Simcoe, Watershed wide

Water Conservation Award (5):

CAPSTONE Environmental Sustainability Team: Makayla Churchill, Katie Brown, Ashley Lee, Orillia
Lefroy Harbour Resorts Inc., Innisfil
InnServices Utilities Inc., Innisfil
Dry Cleaners Plus, Newmarket 
Gerry Brouwer, Georgina

Soil Conservation Award (13):

Lake Simcoe Public School students Ashton Hill, Jorja Keay, Rhea Marok and Taya Torrance, Georgina
Udora & Leaskdale Lions Club, Georgina
Kyle Horlings, Township of King
Green Team of Holy Spirit Catholic Elementary School, Aurora
Eco Club of Innisdale Secondary School, Barrie
École élémentaire La Source, Barrie
Michael Freeman, East Gwillimbury
Hans Pape, Georgina
Kathleen Williams, East Gwillimbury
Karen and Wayne Rynard, Uxbridge
Andrew and Pamela Brown, Township of King
Aurora Montessori School, Aurora
Kathleen Carroll, Uxbridge

Education Award (5):

Aurora Environmental Advisory Committee, Aurora
Geoffrey Shore, Georgina
W.H. Day Elementary School, Bradford West Gwillimbury
Nancy Astin, Oro-Medonte
Uxbridge Youth Centre & Uxbridge Watershed Advisory Committee, Uxbridge

Volunteer Recognition Award (2):

Jennifer Stewart and Kathryn Stewart – Run for the Trails event, Bradford West Gwillimbury
Maskinonge River Recovery Project Committee, Georgina 

​​​​​​​​​It is the mission of the Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority to collaborate, protect and restore the Lake Simcoe watershed with innovative research, policy and action.


Media Contact:
Sinem Connor
Senior Communications Advisor
Lake Simcoe Region Conse​rvation Authority
Toll Free: 1-800-465-0437
Mobile: 289-763-4507
Email: s.connor@LSRCA.on.ca​​

[ Back to all Media Releases​ ]